The Downers Grove Public Library Foundation was incorporated in 2006, thanks to a generous bequest from the Estate of Lillian Culbertson, a Downers Grove resident and dedicated library volunteer. ‘Lil’ managed the Technical Services Department at the Skokie Public Library before her many years of service to the Downers Grove community. Her love for books and lifelong learning continues to guide the Downers Grove Public Library Foundation’s stewardship of her gift, and legacy.

DGPLF is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation dedicated to providing extraordinary enhancements to the library beyond traditional expense, and taxpayer support. Volunteer directors serve on the foundation board and are generally appointed for a three-year term. If you are interested in serving on the DGPL Foundation board, please get in touch at to

Directors serve with thoughtful purpose, and honor for the responsibilities entrusted to them by donors. The Downers Grove Public Library serves a diverse community of needs and individuals, and it is our mission to make each patron’s library visit meaningful and memorable.

DGPL Foundation Board
David Altholz
Jamie Dougherty
Kiki Ehlers
Alison Gustafson, Treasurer
Katie Johnson
Elizabeth Jones
Kate Magnusson
Genene Murphy
Amanda ReCupido, Vice President
Brooks Ruyle
Dave Sosnow, President
Robin Tryloff
Anne Wick, Secretary

Ex Officio
Julie Milavec, Library Director

Emeritus Board
John Mochel

We thank Krista Varsbergs for supporting the DGPL Foundation with communication and design services.